Ugh, Chanitor

<rant>

When you think you may have found a cool malware, but turns out it’s Chanitor about to ruin your day:

The other day, I came across a sample of malware that I couldn’t automatically pre-determine just by viewing the email’s metadata. It seemed a bit off so I assumed it was an information stealer variant or some garbage ransomware. I was wrong. Turned out it was Chanitor, or Hancitor as some in the information security call it. Chanitor is essentially a malware downloader and botnet–it’s purpose is to report newly infected machines to the bad guys as well as deliver additional malware to the already infected computer.

Technically, what I saw in the email wasn’t Chanitor–it was a Word document. This seemingly harmless Word document contains something called a macro element, which has the ability to download malware. Now, some may disagree with me, but I don’t consider the Word document malware, it’s just being used to distribute malware. Think of it as guilt by association.

Why do I care? Well this case was different than what I usually see. Currently the Chanitor-squad has been distributing emails containing carefully crafted malicious links as opposed to the ever popular attachments. Guess what? This sample contained an attachment and a URL (which I found out later).  Chanitor in turn downloads three additional malware samples: a Pony module, a rather stealthy Pony binary (WTH? Someone please explain the point of having a Pony module and a Pony binary), and ZLoader/DELoader banking trojan. That last malware replaced Vawtrak days after the Vawtrak crew was arrested and is apparently a Zeus derivative.

</rant>

Holy Grail of Liquid Lipsticks!

Anyway, what made the situation slightly bearable is my currently lipstick obsession: Tarte’s Quick Dry Matte Lip Paint in the color “Delish”. I’ve been experimenting with liquid lipsticks lately, and this one is amazing! It dries within seconds but the formula is creamy and doesn’t have that tacky feeling. Best part: it lasts for such a long time–even through eating and drinking. I tested it against a Chipotle veggie bowl (because the guac is free).

Screen Shot 2017-04-13 at 11.31.14 PM

Before using this, I liked and still sometimes use Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipsticks and the Huda Beauty Matte Liquid Lipstick, which are CRAZY popular…but ABH fades when eating or drinking (though not too much) and I don’t particularly like the sticky feeling with the Huda Beauty liquid lipstick (although the color lasts for hours–maybe because I bought the lip contour kit which comes with 2 mini liquid lipsticks and a lip pencil?)

Final Rank:

  1. Tarte Quick Dry Matte Lip Paint
  2. ABH Liquid Lipstick
  3. Huda Beauty Matte Liquid Lipstick

I have noticed that I have accumulated more lipsticks in 2016 than I have I have since I started wearing makeup in 2008. Future post will contain something regarding Tom Ford’s Lip and Boys collection.

-CC

Leave a Reply

